Accessibility Options

Use the options below to set the appearance of this website so you can read it more easily

Text Size Select your prefered text size from the options below

  • A
  • A
  • A

Colours Select your prefered website colour from the options below


National Theatre Wales

Wales Drama Award 2016

BBC Wales and National Theatre Wales, in partnership with BBC Writersroom, are inviting submissions for the third prestigious £10,000 Wales Drama Award.

The biennial award is both a celebration of writers in Wales and an open call to Welsh talent, whether emerging or established. It’s a collaboration between two creative leaders in drama – BBC Wales and National Theatre Wales – and was first launched in 2012.

The winner of this year’s Wales Drama Award will receive £10,000, and an opportunity to develop their script and work closely with both BBC Wales and National Theatre Wales.

The Wales Drama Award is run in partnership with BBC Writersroom.


What we're looking for:

Writers must submit a full-length script in any medium, unperformed or unproduced and in the English language and at least 30 minutes long.

Who can apply:

You can apply for this opportunity if you were born in Wales or reside in Wales on a permanent/full time basis at the time of your application.

The Award Payment:

The award will be split into two payments: an initial payment of £5,000, with a second payment of £5,000 payable on delivery of a completed script. Please see the terms and conditions for further details.

How to enter:

Please visit BBC Writersroom for details on how to submit your script. BBC Writersroom will be accepting submissions for the Wales Drama Award between Monday 18th July and 5pm on 29th July 2016.

Wales Drama Award Judges

Anne Edyvean, Head of Writersroom will lead the judging panel with Bethan Jones, Acting Head of Drama BBC Wales and Kully Thiarai, Artistic Director National Theatre Wales. They will joined by Julie Gardner MBE, producer and co-founder of Bad-Wolf and award-winning director Euros Lyn.

Up to six shortlisted writers will be invited to meet with the judges in October 2016 to discuss their script and any ideas they want to develop, and the winner will be announced in November 2016.

Wales Drama Award Winners


Kelly Jones


Jeremy Davies

Alyn Farrow

Alan Harris



Katherine Chandler


Paul Jenkins

Ralph Bolland